Alkermes Pathways Research Awards®

Supporting the Next Generation of Researchers

Alkermes Pathways Research Awards supports research of central nervous system disorders and addiction

About Pathways

With millions of people impacted by neuroscience disorders, more research is urgently needed to bring relief to those who are suffering. The Alkermes Pathways Research Awards® program furthers our commitment to serving the needs of patients and is designed to support the next generation of researchers who are working on the front-lines to advance our understanding and awareness of disease states in the field of neuroscience.

The 3rd annual Alkermes Pathways Research Awards® program will support projects focused on substance use disorders (SUDs), schizophrenia and bipolar disorder.

Open to early career investigators committed to advancing research in SUDs, schizophrenia or bipolar disorder, the annual Pathways program provides individual grant amounts of up to $100,000 per project in research focusing on SUD, schizophrenia or bipolar disorder.

Areas of Interest

  • Preclinical, clinical, translational and epidemiological research
  • Research on treatment and patient centered outcomes
  • Clinical and health economic outcomes using real-world data
  • Outcomes research supporting continuity of care utilizing telehealth or other technology-based approaches

General Eligibility Criteria

This grant is for investigators who are in the early stages of their career; specifically, they may be the recipient of a career development (K) award or other mentored research grant, but not a funded R01 grant or equivalent at the time of application.

Researchers with an academic position above assistant professor are not eligible.

Alkermes Pathways Research Awards® program grants will be awarded to researchers who have demonstrated a commitment to SUD, schizophrenia or bipolar disorder research. Eligible applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Have an MD, PhD, or equivalent
  • Affiliated with a medical or research center within the United States at the time of application
  • Within 5 years of initial academic appointment (e.g., assistant professor) or current postdoctoral fellow
  • Research focuses primarily on furthering knowledge of SUDs, schizophrenia or bipolar disorder
  • Have a research mentor with extensive experience in the field of SUDs, schizophrenia or bipolar disorder
  • Have not received an NIH R01 grant at the time of award
  • Willing and able to accept funding from a for-profit, pharmaceutical company
  • Able to complete the proposed research within 2 years
  • Citizen or permanent resident of the United States or hold a temporary non-immigrant visa that is valid for the duration of the 2-year grant period

Selection Criteria

All applications will be formally reviewed by an independent Review Committee comprising prominent researchers in the relevant field. The Review Committee has final responsibility for selection of Awardees.

When the Review Committee evaluates a proposal, they will consider criteria, including but not limited to:

  • Overall impact
  • Candidate
  • Mentor
  • Environment and institutional commitment to the applicant
  • Research plan

Note that applications are not required to include an Alkermes product.

Application Process

All applications, regardless of area of interest, should be submitted by email to

The following items should be included in the submission email:

  • Completed Application Form
  • Completed Budget Form
  • NIH Biosketch of applicant
  • Letter (1 page) of mentor support
  • Letter (1 page) from Division Chief or Department Head confirming academic appointment (or postdoctoral fellowship)
  • Up to 3 optional supporting documents

Attachments may be sent as individual files or in a zip file.

Application Documents

Pathways Guidance can be found here.

Pathways Application form can be found here.

Pathways Budget template can be found here.

Key Dates

Application Process Open – July 1, 2020

Application Deadline – October 30, 2020 (by 11:59 Eastern Daylight Time)

Notification of Review Committee Decision – Q1 2021 Public Announcement of Awardees – Q2 2021

2018 Awardees - Addiction

  • Lais Fernanda Berro, Ph.D., University of Mississippi Medical Center, for preclinical research on quantitative pharmacology and pharmacotherapeutics for opioid and benzodiazepine co-abuse
  • Mehdi Farokhnia, M.D., Section on Clinical Psychoneuroendocrinology and Neuropsychopharmacology (CPN), National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) and National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA), National Institutes of Health (NIH), for examining the neurobiological correlates and pharmacotherapeutic implications of the GLP-1 system in relation to alcohol use
  • Sarah L. Withey, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School, McLean Hospital, for assessing the effects of continuous exposure to naltrexone on the behavior and reward circuitry involved in opioid addiction relapses in non-human subjects

2019 Awardees - Addiction

  • Caroline A. Arout, Ph.D., Columbia University Irving Medical Center and New York State Psychiatric Institute, for assessing effects of repeated high-cannabidiol cannabis administration on experimental pain and abuse liability in humans
  • Gregory F. Corder, Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, for research on prevention of neurodevelopmental disabilities associated with neonatal opioid withdrawal
  • Victor Philippe Mathis, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, for research defining the role of cortical inputs to the habenula in the control of midbrain dopamine neurons and addiction-related behaviors
  • Cody A. Siciliano, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University, for research assessing neural mechanisms of cognitive dysfunction and alcohol abuse vulnerability

2019 Awardees – Schizophrenia

  • Michael S Breen, Ph.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, for research on functional and translational implications of A-to-I RNA editing in schizophrenia
  • Xi Chen, Ph.D., McLean Hospital, Harvard Medical School, for In vivo research observing brain lactate changes in first-episode schizophrenia using 3-T magnetic resonance spectroscopy
  • Amanda McCleery, Ph.D., University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior, for research on the impact of aripiprazole medication adherence on learning and neuroplasticity in recent-onset schizophrenia: A comparison of long-acting injectable and oral formulations
  • Jose M Rubio, M.D., Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, for assessing the fluctuations in resting state functional connectivity associated with psychosis relapse during antipsychotic maintenance

Further Information
If you require clarification of any information, please contact the Pathway Research Awards Program Manager by the email